

20/02/2018

Jeunghun Wang defends Commercial Bank Qatar Masters



The European Tour remains in the Middle East this week for the Commercial Bank Qatar Masters at Doha Golf Club. Major champions Darren Clarke and Paul Lawrie are among the star names on the entry list as are 2018 Ryder Cup captain Thomas Bjorn, his vice-captain Robert Karlsson and Englishmen Chris Wood and Andy Sullivan.

The first Qatar Masters was won by Andrew Coltart back in 1998. Since then the event has produced some notable champions. In 1999 Paul Lawrie was a winner here before going on to claim The Open Championship that summer at Carnoustie. He won again in 2012. Tony Johnstone secured his final European Tour victory here in 2001.

Adam Scott has twice been a winner, in 2002 then again in 2008. Swedish players have also enjoyed some success at Doha – Joakim Haegmann won the event in 2004, Henrik Stenson lifted the trophy in 2006 while Robert Karlsson triumphed in 2010. Chris Wood won in 2013 and Sergio Garcia in 2014. Branden Grace won back-to-back in 2015 and 2016 and, last year, Jeunghun Wang of South Korea came through a playoff against Joakim Lagergren and Jaco Van Zyl.

Wang is back to defend his title in the Commercial Bank Qatar Masters but he will face strong competition from a field that includes last week's runner-up in Oman Chris Wood, two-time winner on this year's European Tour Shubhankar Sharma, the ever-consistent Andy Sullivan and the talented Dane Thorbjorn Olesen.

Like many of the courses in this part of the world, the layout at Doha GC is a Peter Harradine design. Opened for play in 1994, water comes into play on six holes and natural outcrops of rock are also a feature.

The weather looks pretty reasonable although there could be a few showers around. It could also be a little breezy which might add to the challenge.