

## Former Qatar Open winner Thomas in Asia-Pacific team



Rayhan Thomas, winner at the 2016 Qatar Open Amateur Golf Championship, will return to his favourite hunting Doha Golf Club as member of the Asia-Pacific team which will contest for the Michael Bonallack Trophy here from March 8.

Thomas is the lone Indian among the 12-member Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation team announced by Sir Michael Bonallack Trophy selection committee.

The three-day event, at the Peter Harradine designed course, will welcome some of the top amateur men and women players and will pit the best of male and female amateur European players against an Asia-Pacific team.

The men team will be vying for the Michael Bonallack Trophy while the women be vying for the Patsy Hankins honours in the tournament, which ends on March 11. The tournament will be played in match-play format.

The other members besides Rayhan Thomas are Min Woo Lee (Australia), Shae Wools-Cobb (Australia), Takumi Kanaya (Japan), Kazuya Osawa (Japan) Jaemin Han (Korea), Dong-min Kim (Korea), Daniel Hillier (New Zealand), Lloyd Jefferson Go (Philippines), Gregory Foo (Singapore), Sadom Keawkanjana (Thailand) and Kammalas Namuangruk (Thailand).

Thomas, who also won the Dubai Creek Open in 2016, besides the Qatar event, had a strong run at the 2017 United States Junior making the semi-final stage and will be hoping to continue his good form at the DGC.

Thomas team-mate at the Asia-Pacific team, Min Woo Lee, winner of the United States Junior Championship in 2016 and the 2017 s runner-up at the Australian Amateur and tied for 3rd at the Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship will look to give his best in Doha.

Lee's compatriot, Shae Wools-Cobb, another member of the teams, won the NT Amateur in 2016 and was a semi-finalist at the 2018 Australian Amateur.

Japan's Takumi Kanaya is representing the Asia-Pacific for the second time, having been a standout player two years ago in Portugal. In 2017 he was runner-up in the Japan Open and is a former winner of the Chugoku Amateur. Another, Japanese representative on the team, Kazuya Osawa won the Japan Amateur in 2017 and was runner-up at the Nomura Cup in the individual component.

There are two Koreans in the team. Jaemin Han is a winner of the Korean Amateur trials and was runnerup in the Korean Junior Amateur in 2016.

His national team-mate and Korea's top ranked player Dong-min Kim recently tied for 6th at his home Korean Open.

Only two players from one country can make it to the team according to tournament rules.

Matt Cutler, who returns as Captain said: "I am very happy with the team we have selected. We have a group of players that thoroughlydeserve to represent our region and I know will give their all in the matches with Europe. Along with vice-captain Andy Yamanaka from Japan and our coach Gareth Jones from Australia I am very excited about the week ahead".

The first two days, of the three days format, will comprise five foursomes matches each morning and five four-ball matches each afternoon. On the final day, all twelve team players will compete in singles match play. A win will count as one point, a half yields half a point and a lost match will return zero. In the event of a tie, the trophy shall be retained by the holders

Meanwhile the Patsy Hankins Trophy Selection Committee, led by non-playing Captain, Joanne Mckee has announced the 12 players who have been selected to represent the Asia-Pacific women's team.

The players have been selected on their World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) and high-level performance.

The team is as follows: Grace Kim (Australia), Liu Wenbo (China), Du Mohan (China), Ya-Chun Chang (Chinese Taipei), Yu-Chiang Hou (Chinese Taipei), Yuna Nishimura (Japan), Riri Sadoyama (Japan), Seo-yun Kwon (Korea), Hae-ran Ryu (Korea), Yuka Saso (Philippines), Paphangkorn Tavatanakit (Thailand) and Atthaya Thitikul (Thailand).